Webutuck Board of Education held the February 5, 2007 meeting at 7:30 p.m. in the Webutuck High School Library.



The following Board members were present:

Bernadette Coniglio, President

Joanne Boyd

Dale Culver

Joseph Herald

Joseph Matteo

John Perotti


Also Present:

Dr. Richard N. Johns, Superintendent

Kevin Geoghan, School Business Administrator

Tracy Trotter, Superintendent’s Secretary



Susan Lounsbury



Ms. Coniglio called the business meeting of February 5, 2007 to order at 7:33 p.m.  



There was no public comment.



The Superintendent asked Board members to hand in the report for the School Attorney.  He related the success the District has had with the Safe Child Program.  323 children from Pre-K to 8th grade have received their ID cards.  WHS is holding the last session to acquire ID’s on February 27th.  The Teaching Assistant classes begin next Thursday, February 15th.  In addition to our Teaching Assistants, one student and one out-of-district T.A. has joined the class.



1.  Personnel

A Board member asked who would be substituting for Monica Bozik while she is on leave.


2.  Accept $900 Donation from Millerton Fire Dept. for “Fire Prevention” Calendars

A Board member suggested writing a thank you letter to Sheriff Anderson. 


3.  Tenure

Tenure will be discussed in Executive Session.


                        Kenneth Sauer

                        Scott Richards


                        Heather Farr-Killmer

                        Dawn Murtaugh

                        Denise Conway

                        Patricia Forbes

                        Julia Heenan

                        Shawn Hosier

                        Vincent Merendino

                        Peter Stefonowich

                        William Havranek

                        Maxine Ifafore

                        Robert Reid

                        Mary Tauber

                        Stephen Pollak

                        Nancy Bayersdorfer

                        Janice McSpiritt

            Teaching Assistants:

                        Victoria Barros

                        Patricia Steen

                        Sheelagh Rosa

                        Ann Kain

                        Cheryl Katan

                        Donna Merritt

                        Denise Clapper

                        Marilyn Midwood

                        Denise Flint


4.  Board Retreat

Board members decided Monday nights to be the best night for a retreat beginning at 7 pm.  The District Clerk will poll the members to find the best date for everyone.


5.  $900 donation from Rosanna Hamm through a grant from Berkshire Taconic Foundation to be used for the purchasing of math materials.

It was noted Rosanna Hamm wrote the grant herself.


6.  Financial Reports:  “Approved” v “Accepted as Submitted”

It was restated by a Board member that a past legal experience with the District brought to light that voting to approve Financial Reports can bring consequences for the District.  It was decided from this point forward the wording on agendas and minutes will be to Accept Financial Reports “as Submitted”.



There was no comment.



Mrs. Boyd made and Mr. Culver seconded a motion to adjourn to executive session at 8:05 pm for the purpose of discussing tenure.  The six Board members voted to approve the motion.  The motion carried.



Mr. Herald made a motion to adjourn the executive session and reconvene the public session at 10:20 pm.  The six Board members voted to approve the motion.  The motion carried.



There being no further business, Mr. Herald motioned to adjourn the meeting of February 6, 2007 at 10:21 pm. 


Respectfully submitted,



Tracy Trotter

District Clerk